Board of Ed

Google Translate

Legislative Advocacy

 Legislative Advocacy

Welcome to the Bedford Central School District's Legislative Advocacy and Information Page.  This information is designed to connect Bedford Central parents, community members, and staff with our elected officials. 

Please feel free to share this information with anyone who may be interested, as an educated community is an empowered community.  Our collective advocacy will work to ensure a strong voice in the legislative decisions that impact the Bedford Central School District and our students.

Click here for BCSD Advocacy Statements and Information.

How to Contact Our Elected Officials

President Donald J. Trump
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington D.C. 20500
Comments: 202-456-1111
Swithboard: 202-456-1414
U.S. Senators for the State of New York
Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand
531 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
202-224-4451; NY Office 212-688-6262
Web Form:
Senator Charles E. Schumer
313 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510
Web Form:
U.S. House of Representatives
Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney
Washington D.C. Office:  1529  Longworth House Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20515 
                                  202-225-5441  Fax-202-225-3289
Goshen Office: 225 Main Street, Suite 3232G, Goshen, NY 10924, 845-291-4100
Hours: M-F 9-6:00 pm
Governor of New York
Andrew Cuomo
State Capitol
Albany, NY 12224
Email Address:
Web Form:
NY State Senator
George Latimer
District Office:  222 Grace Church Street,  Suite 300,Portchester, NY  10573;
Phone:(914) 934-5250  Fax:  (914)  934-5256
Albany Office: 817 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 12247, 518-455-2031
Terrence P. Murphy
District Office: Putnam County Office Building, 40 Gleneida Avenue, 3rd Floor, Carmel, NY 10512
Albany Office: Room 817, Legislative Office Building, Albany, New York 12247
Phone: (518) 455-3111  Fax: (518) 426-6977
NY State Assembly
David Buchwald
Albany Office: LOB 648, Albany, NY 12248, 518-455-5397
District Office: 125-131 East Main Street Suite 204, Mount Kisco, NY 10549,
Phone: 914-244-4450   Fax:  914-244-4453
NYS Senate Standing Committee on Education
Senator John Flanagan, Chairman
Room 805 Legislative Office Building, Albany, NY 11241
Phone: 518-455-2071; Fax: 518-426-6904
260 Middle Country Road, Suite 102
Smithtown, New York 11787
Phone: 631-361-2154
NYS Assembly Committee on Education
Assemblywoman Catherine Nolan, Chair
LOB 836, Albany, NY 11248
Phone: 518-455-4851
41-02 Queens Blvd. Suite 2B
Sunnyside, New York  11101
Phone: 718-784-3194
contact form:
Commissioner  MaryEllen Elia
New York Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: 518-474-3852
NYS Board of Regents
New York State Education Department
89 Washington Avenue
Board of Regents, Room 110 EB
Albany, New York 12234
Phone: 518-474-5889
Other Key Legislative Contacts

Senator John Flanagan, Senate Majority Leader,

Senator Jeff Klein, Senate IDC Leader,

Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins, Senate Democratic Leader,

Senator Carl Marcellino, Chairman, Senate Education Committee,

Speaker Carl Heastie, NYS Assembly,

Assemblywoman Cathy Nolan, Chairwoman, Assembly Education Committee,

New York State Legislative Session Information